The Quest for the Best Salsa!

So I decided to experiment a little with salsa. It’s the perfect compliment to Mexican food and one of the easiest sides to make. When I learned to make my own salsa, I never purchase store bought again. There’s something about the freshness of making your own salsa that goes a long way and something you should be proud of. Growing up in San Diego there was this hole in the wall Mexican spot called Albertos, which later became, Alejandros, which later became what it is now, Cotixan.

8110 Mira Mesa Blvd
San Diego, CA 92126
http://gotburrito.com/

No disrespect to the current establishment but to anyone who has lived in San Diego and sinked your tastebuds into the Albertos/Alejandros liquid salsa it’s AMAZING! So amazing that instead of ordering drinks I straight shot salsa. Thus earning the nickname from one of my close friends Nimitz…Hot Shot! Since the building has been under new management it hasn’t been the same. I’m still trying to recreate it so stay tuned to when I do.

So here we go. Here’s a salsa I’ve experimented with over the weekend so I welcome you all to try it as well.

So while you’re out shopping, you’ll need some essentials. I decided to go with this type of chile. Depending on your heat tolerance, I have a pretty high one. I used about a handful. You may want to go less than that but if you’re a daredevil like me, be my guest.

They don’t call me the Blazing Wings Champion for nothing…

Anyways haha let’s get started. These are all the ingredients you will need.

You’ll need to roast the chiles, tomatillos and garlic. I didn’t want “direct heat” on the ingredients so I masked the heat with foil. What I’m trying to achieve here is to char the ingredients. You can also achieve this by putting this on the grill. You will still need to use foil though.

The chiles will go fast so you’ll need to stand by the stove so they don’t burn. If you completely burn your chiles, the salsa will suck. Put the chiles into a pot of boiling water to soften them.


Once you get a good char on all sides of the tomatillos, go ahead and put those in the pot of boiling water. If the chiles are soft, you can go ahead and put them into the blender. The garlic is done when you can peel the skin easily. Be sure not to burn these also.

You’ll want to go ahead and chop of the cilantro and onions. I saved a little to the side to garnish the top of the salsa. Everyone eats with their eyes first. Just remember!


Everyone goes into the blender!



I added a few ladles of water that the chiles and tomatillos were boiling in. Reason for this is so that when you eventually refrigerate your salsa, you won’t have coagulation from the tomatillos. I’ve had some throughout experimentation so I’d probably recommend you use less tomatillos the next time you make salsa.

Finish with lime, salt and pepper to taste and you’re done!



So is it the best salsa I’ve ever had? No, but it’s delicious and the quest continues…

Roasted Tomatillo Chile Japones Entero Salsa
Printer-friendly PDF version

Ingredients

  • 8 tomatillos
  • 1 bunch cilantro
  • 1 red onion
  • 1-2 limes
  • Handful of whole Japones Entero chiles
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • salt
  • pepper

Directions

Roast the tomatillos, garlic, chiles in a large pan. Line the pan with foil. Start a pot of boiling water and when tomatillos and chiles are nicely charred, put them in boiling water to soften.

Chop cilantro and dice red onions. Reserve a ¼ cup each of the red onions and cilantro for garnish. All ingredients will be blended so everyone goes in. I used about 1 ½ juiced limes in this salsa and depending on your tastebuds you can always add more. Salt and pepper to taste. Put your salsa in a bowl and garnish with the red onions and cilantro.

Leave a Reply

